The 40 Year Old Bat Mitzvah

Journaling the Journey

Posted in personal growth, spirituality by Juliet on March 4, 2010

I have been trying to write in my spiritual journal, but I don’t have anything to say.

I feel foggy today.

I keep blaming it on the fact that I’m caffeine-free, which is very unusual for me. (I am doing a test of adrenal hormone levels and caffeine will throw off the results. Four times a day I have to fill plastic vials with saliva. I feel like a rattlesnake being milked for its venom.)

I’m also tired.

I crawl into bed at night and the second my head hits the pillow….bam. Nothing. I am wide awake. Has our bedroom always been this bright? Has the full moon always looked quite this full?

I am busy. I am away from the house in the evenings a lot lately. I get home and it’s 9:30 or 10 p.m. or later, and instead of winding down, I grab some food. I watch TV. I make sure Tivo captured my shows (which I don’t have time to watch anyway.) I get mad if it didn’t. I re-schedule a taping, and it tapes a sixth or seventh episode of Big Love or Lost or all the other shows we used to watch together.

I say goodnight to Scott. I read. I sort mail. I pay a few bills or do a little paperwork. It’s 11:30, 12:15, 12:55.

And so it goes.

Now I am unwinding, unfolding, decompressing. I’m trying to carve out time, to chisel a personal “me” from this insane schedule I’ve walled up around myself.

I don’t want to become such a dabbler that I never do any one thing well.

Also I want to enjoy life.

I don’t want a schedule so precariously balanced that it hinges on my not hitting a red light, or getting a flat tire, or getting a call from a friend who needs to talk.

I want to care for my family, and our home, but also do stuff I enjoy, just because I feel like doing it, and it brings me joy and fulfillment. And I want to do at least some of it now, instead of putting it off to a “more convenient” or “less busy” time.

I don’t want our house to look ransacked.

Also:

I don’t want to forget how to knit.

I took up knitting after leaving the public defender’s office. It was recommended (along with Tai Chi) as a way to relax. When you’re a beginning knitter, it’s not really that relaxing, by the way.

I took a drop-in class at Michael’s and learned. I practiced. Mostly I knit scarves for Barbies and Webkinz.

Then I forgot. I forgot! I couldn’t believe it. One day after a time span not much longer than my previous knitting lapses, my hands just didn’t know what to do.

I signed up for a workshop and now, once again, I know how to do two things. I know a basic cast-on (“thumb casting,” which is way easier than needle casting on) and a knit stitch. Tying a slip knot can be tricky so if you count that, I know three things. I don’t know how to bind off so if I take my work off the needles, it unwinds dramatically into one long, curly strand. I’ll learn binding off when I go back to class next month.

Meanwhile, I’m practicing every single day, without fail. I don’t work for long…just long enough to know that I didn’t forget. Is this what it is to get older? Some day, will I have to remind myself how to knit both in the morning and then again in the afternoon?

I feel the same way about my budding Hebrew. I had my first session with my tutor, Morah Heidi (Morah means “teacher” in Hebrew.) I am cautiously optimistic but man, I don’t want to forget how to knit in Hebrew, either.

Sure, I know the basic letters, but I knew them five years ago too, last time I took on this project. It’s like relearning the same damned thing over and over again. Every morning I pull out my photocopied pages and practice my baby Hebrew, and I’m surprised — shocked! — that I didn’t forget everything overnight.

I could do the splits when I was four. If I’d done the splits every single day from age four, I’d be a forty year old who can do the splits.

Is this regret? Beating myself up for not doing something I should have been doing all along? Should I have guessed 20 or 30 years ago that this was going to become important to me at age 40?

So for now…I’m salivating into a specimen cup. I’m secretly struggling very slowly through my seven year old’s Hebrew homework when she’s at school. I’m knitting in the car between appointments, just to make sure I don’t forget.

All my life I’ve easily done things that other people think are hard. Why now are the simplest things — things that should be easy — suddenly so hard?

The “journey” isn’t signing up. It isn’t filling a brand new notebook with a fresh stack of blank binder paper. It isn’t making a label for the latest project.

The journey is the long and boring part. It’s the 5, when this El Pollo Loco looks just like the one you passed 100 miles ago, and there’s still six more hours to go.

As an experiment in consideration to myself, I am sticking with it.

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. zero turn mowers reviews said, on May 13, 2014 at 10:12 AM

    I think this is one of the most vital information for
    me. And i’m glad reading your article. But wanna remark on few general
    things, The website style is great, the articles is really great :
    D. Good job, cheers

  2. http://flsd.co/944995 said, on May 13, 2014 at 7:07 PM

    I have been browsing online more than 4 hours today, yet I never found any
    interesting article like yours. It’s pretty worth enough
    for me. Personally, if all webmasters and bloggers made good content as you did, the
    net will be a lot more useful than ever before.|
    I couldn’t resist commenting. Well written!|
    I will immediately clutch your rss feed as I can not to
    find your email subscription hyperlink or newsletter service.
    Do you have any? Kindly allow me realize so that I may
    subscribe. Thanks.|
    It is the best time to make some plans for the future and it is time to be happy.

    I have read this post and if I could I want to suggest you some interesting things or tips.
    Perhaps you could write next articles referring to this article.
    I want to read even more things about it!|
    It’s the best time to make a few plans for the future and it is time
    to be happy. I have learn this submit and if I may I desire to recommend you few
    interesting issues or advice. Maybe you can write subsequent articles relating to this article.
    I desire to read more things approximately it!|
    I have been browsing on-line more than 3 hours these days,
    but I by no means discovered any interesting article like yours.
    It is pretty price enough for me. In my view,
    if all web owners and bloggers made good content material
    as you did, the web might be a lot more helpful than ever before.|
    Ahaa, its pleasant discussion regarding this piece of writing here at this blog, I have
    read all that, so at this time me also commenting at this place.|
    I am sure this piece of writing has touched all the internet users, its really really nice paragraph on building up new blog.|
    Wow, this paragraph is good, my younger sister is analyzing these things, so I am going to let know her.|
    bookmarked!!, I really like your blog!|
    Way cool! Some very valid points! I appreciate you
    penning this article plus the rest of the site is very good.|
    Hi, I do believe this is a great web site. I stumbledupon it ;
    ) I am going to come back yet again since i have bookmarked it.
    Money and freedom is the greatest way to
    change, may you be rich and continue to help others.|
    Woah! I’m really enjoying the template/theme
    of this blog. It’s simple, yet effective.
    A lot of times it’s tough to get that “perfect balance” between usability and visual appeal.
    I must say that you’ve done a fantastic job with
    this. Additionally, the blog loads super fast for me on Firefox.
    Outstanding Blog!|
    These are actually fantastic ideas in regarding blogging.
    You have touched some good factors here. Any way keep up wrinting.|
    Everyone loves what you guys are up too. This kind of clever work
    and exposure! Keep up the wonderful works guys I’ve you guys to blogroll.|
    Hi! Someone in my Facebook group shared this website with us so I came to look it over.
    I’m definitely enjoying the information. I’m book-marking and will
    be tweeting this to my followers! Great blog and terrific design.|
    I love what you guys are up too. This type of clever work and coverage!

    Keep up the good works guys I’ve added you guys to my blogroll.|
    Hi would you mind sharing which blog platform you’re using?
    I’m going to start my own blog in the near future but I’m having a
    tough time choosing between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal.

    The reason I ask is because your layout seems different then most blogs
    and I’m looking for something completely unique.
    P.S My apologies for getting off-topic but I had to ask!|
    Hello would you mind letting me know which hosting company you’re working with?

    I’ve loaded your blog in 3 different internet browsers and
    I must say this blog loads a lot quicker then most. Can you
    suggest a good web hosting provider at a reasonable price?
    Thanks a lot, I appreciate it!|
    I really like it when individuals get together and share opinions.
    Great website, keep it up!|
    Thank you for the good writeup. It in fact was a amusement account it.
    Look advanced to far added agreeable from you! By the way, how could we communicate?|
    Hi there just wanted to give you a quick heads up. The words in your post seem to
    be running off the screen in Firefox. I’m not sure if this is a format issue or something to do with
    browser compatibility but I figured I’d post to let you know.
    The design and style look great though! Hope you get
    the problem solved soon. Kudos|
    This is a topic which is close to my heart…

    Take care! Exactly where are your contact details though?|
    It’s very trouble-free to find out any matter on web as compared to
    books, as I found this piece of writing at this web site.|
    Does your site have a contact page? I’m having trouble locating it
    but, I’d like to send you an e-mail. I’ve got
    some ideas for your blog you might be interested in hearing.
    Either way, great website and I look forward to seeing it expand over time.|
    Hola! I’ve been reading your weblog for a while now and finally got the bravery to go ahead and give you a
    shout out from Atascocita Tx! Just wanted to mention keep up the
    good work!|
    Greetings from Idaho! I’m bored to tears at work so I decided to check out your blog on
    my iphone during lunch break. I love the info you provide here and can’t
    wait to take a look when I get home. I’m amazed at how quick your blog loaded on my
    phone .. I’m not even using WIFI, just 3G .. Anyhow, very good site!|
    Its like you learn my mind! You seem to know a lot about this, such as you wrote the e-book
    in it or something. I feel that you just can do with a few p.c.
    to drive the message house a bit, but other than that, this is magnificent blog.
    A fantastic read. I will definitely be back.|
    I visited several web sites but the audio quality for audio songs existing at this web page is
    genuinely superb.|
    Hello, i read your blog from time to time and i own a
    similar one and i was just curious if you get a lot of spam responses?
    If so how do you protect against it, any plugin or anything you can suggest?

    I get so much lately it’s driving me crazy so any help is very much appreciated.|
    Greetings! Very helpful advice in this particular article!
    It’s the little changes which will make the greatest changes.
    Many thanks for sharing!|
    I absolutely love your site.. Excellent colors & theme.

    Did you develop this site yourself? Please reply back
    as I’m attempting to create my own blog and would love to find
    out where you got this from or what the theme is called.
    Thanks!|
    Hi there! This post could not be written much better!
    Going through this article reminds me of my previous roommate!
    He always kept talking about this. I most certainly will
    forward this article to him. Pretty sure he’s going to have a great
    read. Thank you for sharing!|
    Amazing! This blog looks just like my old one!
    It’s on a completely different subject but it has pretty much the same page layout and design.
    Superb choice of colors!|
    There is certainly a lot to find out about this issue.
    I love all the points you have made.|
    You made some decent points there. I checked on the internet for additional information about the issue and found most
    people will go along with your views on this site.|
    Hi there, I check your blog on a regular basis.

    Your humoristic style is witty, keep it up!|
    I just could not depart your site before suggesting that
    I actually loved the standard info a person supply
    on your visitors? Is gonna be again incessantly to check out new posts|
    I needed to thank you for this good read!!

    I certainly loved every little bit of it. I have got you book marked to check out new stuff
    you post…|
    Hi there, just wanted to tell you, I loved this article.
    It was helpful. Keep on posting!|
    I comment each time I like a post on a site or
    I have something to contribute to the conversation.
    Usually it is triggered by the sincerness communicated
    in the article I read. And on this article Journaling
    the Journey | The 40 Year Old Bat Mitzvah. I was actually moved enough
    to drop a leave a responsea response 🙂 I actually do have a couple of questions for you if
    it’s okay. Could it be only me or do a few of the comments appear as if they are coming from brain dead
    individuals? 😛 And, if you are writing on other
    places, I would like to follow anything new you have to post.
    Could you list the complete urls of your community pages like your Facebook page, twitter feed, or linkedin profile?|
    Hello, I enjoy reading all of your article. I like to write a little comment to support you.|
    I constantly spent my half an hour to read this website’s content
    all the time along with a mug of coffee.|
    I every time emailed this web site post page to all my friends, for
    the reason that if like to read it after that my links will
    too.|
    My developer is trying to convince me to move
    to .net from PHP. I have always disliked the idea because of the costs.

    But he’s tryiong none the less. I’ve been using WordPress on several websites for about a year and
    am anxious about switching to another platform. I have heard good things
    about blogengine.net. Is there a way I can import all my wordpress content into it?
    Any help would be greatly appreciated!|
    Howdy! I could have sworn I’ve been to this blog before but after browsing
    through a few of the articles I realized it’s new to me.
    Anyways, I’m certainly happy I found it and I’ll be bookmarking it and checking back often!|
    Great work! This is the type of info that are meant to be shared across the net.
    Shame on Google for no longer positioning this
    post upper! Come on over and discuss with my site . Thanks
    =)|
    Heya i’m for the first time here. I came across this board and I
    find It truly useful & it helped me out a lot. I hope to give something back and aid others like
    you aided me.|
    Hi there, I think your site may be having internet browser
    compatibility problems. When I take a look at your site in Safari, it looks fine however, if opening in I.E., it has some overlapping
    issues. I merely wanted to provide you with a quick heads up!

    Aside from that, excellent blog!|
    A person essentially assist to make seriously posts I might state.
    This is the first time I frequented your website page and thus far?
    I surprised with the research you made to make this actual post incredible.
    Fantastic task!|
    Heya i am for the primary time here. I found this board
    and I to find It really useful & it helped me out much.
    I hope to give something again and help others
    such as you helped me.|
    Hi there! I simply wish to give you a huge thumbs up for the
    great information you have got right here on this post. I am coming back to
    your website for more soon.|
    I always used to read article in news papers but now as
    I am a user of internet so from now I am
    using net for articles or reviews, thanks to web.|
    Your mode of describing the whole thing in this post is actually fastidious,
    every one be capable of without difficulty understand it,
    Thanks a lot.|
    Hello there, I discovered your blog via Google whilst looking for a comparable matter, your web site got
    here up, it seems good. I have bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.

    Hi there, simply was alert to your weblog thru Google, and located that it’s truly informative.
    I’m gonna be careful for brussels. I will appreciate if you happen to
    proceed this in future. Lots of folks can be benefited out of your writing.
    Cheers!|
    I am curious to find out what blog system you are utilizing?
    I’m having some small security issues with my latest website and I
    would like to find something more safe. Do you have any suggestions?|
    I’m extremely impressed with your writing skills as well as with the layout on your weblog.

    Is this a paid theme or did you customize it yourself?
    Either way keep up the nice quality writing, it is rare to see a
    nice blog like this one nowadays.|
    I am extremely inspired with your writing talents and also with the format
    to your blog. Is that this a paid topic or did you customize
    it yourself? Either way keep up the nice high quality writing, it is uncommon to peer a nice blog like this one these days..|
    Hello, Neat post. There is an issue along
    with your website in internet explorer, would check this?

    IE nonetheless is the marketplace chief and a good
    component of folks will omit your great writing due to this problem.|
    I am not sure where you are getting your info, but great topic.
    I needs to spend some time learning more or understanding
    more. Thanks for great information I was looking for this information for
    my mission.|
    Hello, i think that i saw you visited my
    weblog thus i came to “return the favor”.I am attempting to find things to improve my website!I suppose
    its ok to use {some of|a \

  3. propane San Marcos said, on July 7, 2014 at 4:09 AM

    I usually do not leave a ton of responses, however i did a
    few searching and wound up here Journaling the Journey | The 40 Year Old
    Bat Mitzvah. And I do have 2 questions for you if it’s
    allright. Is it only me or does it look like some of the responses appear like left by brain dead folks?
    😛 And, if you are writing on additional places, I would like to keep up with
    anything new you have to post. Would you make a list of all of
    all your shared pages like your twitter feed, Facebook page or
    linkedin profile?

  4. Hi, i feel that i noticed you visited my blog thus i got here to go
    back the want?.I’m attempting to find things to enhance my website!I
    suppose its ok to use some of your concepts!!

  5. hide and lock photos iphone4 said, on July 14, 2014 at 5:41 PM

    What’s up it’s me, I am also visiting this web page daily,
    this web site is actually pleasant and the visitors are genuinely sharing good
    thoughts.

  6. http://monsterwarlordhack.net said, on August 19, 2014 at 7:04 AM

    Good daү! Do you սse Twitter? I’d like
    to follow you if that would be ok. I’m definitely
    enjoƴing your blog and look forward to new posts.

  7. Thanks for sharing your thoughts on along. Regards

  8. internet Marketing Atlanta said, on September 23, 2014 at 8:36 PM

    I am regular reader, how are you everybody?
    This post posted at this site is really good.

  9. derm exclusive bad reviews said, on September 30, 2014 at 7:30 AM

    For latest news you have to go to see world wide web and on the web I found this web site as a most
    excellent web site for most recent updates.


Leave a Reply

