The 40 Year Old Bat Mitzvah

A Cup of Herbal Tea

Posted in personal growth by Juliet on March 10, 2010

I have a caffeinated personality.

One of the things that recurs in my love/hate relationship with one of my many hometowns, Santa Cruz, is how slow and fuzzy-brained everyone is.  Aside from the obvious (pot), I think it has to do with the fact that there are plenty of restaurants and cafes where you can get eleventy seven varieties of herbal tea and not a single one with caffeine.  (Santa Cruz has damned good coffee, though.)

I spent most of February slowly tapering off caffeine.  My resentment grew in a directly inverse proportion to the shrinking of my daily caffeine allotment.

Here is what I wrote in my spiritual journal on February 25, 2010:

Feeling “soul nurtured” just through being more mindful of taking care of myself and making a few small tweaks to my day.

Bought BEAUTIFUL TEA!!!

Went to Spice Merchants and picked up two varieties of herbal tea.  I hate giving up caffeine but I’m kind of glad to realize my level of dependence.  A little is okay but I am a very sensitive individual.

P.S. Did you see it?  There is that word again:  beautiful.

Leave a Reply

