The 40 Year Old Bat Mitzvah

I Want an Inner Spiritual Life, Damn It!

Posted in learning hebrew, personal growth, rituals, spirituality by Juliet on March 14, 2010

I need to carve out time for a spiritual life.  I am so mired in the sheer busy-ness of the day-to-day that I don’t ever seem to have a moment to step back and reflect on deeper concerns.

I WANT AN INNER SPIRITUAL LIFE.

DAMN IT!

Why is becoming bat mitzvah important to me?  Why – at age 40 – do it?  What does a ceremony do for me that mere study cannot?

Hmmm.

I think part of it is a sense of completeness.  We went to a lot of movies when I was a kid.  We’d walk in any time, watch to the end, then stay in our seats until the same movie started again, and we’d watch up to the point where we came in.  (Then we could leave.)

And some of why it is important will come to me, I’m sure, over the next few months.

Meanwhile, I wrote this in all capital letters in my spiritual journal:

BE GOOD TO MYSELF

BE KIND TO MYSELF

SUPPORT MY WHOLE SELF IN SPIRITUAL GROWTH

Leave a Reply

