The 40 Year Old Bat Mitzvah

A Little Guidance

Posted in personal growth, philosophizing, spirituality by Juliet on March 18, 2010

I want a life coach. Or a medium to channel my spirit guides or something.

Basically I want someone to tell me what to do. Figuring it out all by myself is hard and I want it to be easy.

Why shouldn’t it be easy? Shouldn’t life be easy? Who says something is automatically “worthier” or “better” just because it was hard to obtain?

Case in point: Temecula wildflowers pop up in the hundreds year after year. I don’t do anything. (In fact, the one year I did do something, I ended up pulling them all up as weeds and they didn’t grow at all.) Now I leave well enough alone and shamelessly take the credit for being a “good gardener.”

Is it bad or wrong that I enjoy looking at beautiful flowers or feeling like I have a green thumb, just because growing them happened to be easy? Would they be any prettier if I’d slaved away to get them to bloom?

I don’t read too many self-help books because I know it’s too much to hope that all the answers are out there in one neat little 250-page package.

But is it so bad to wish it were so?

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. QB said, on March 18, 2010 at 4:25 PM

    I went through a period when I prayed for my life to be easy. I am not kidding. I told God that if I didn’t learn or grow for a while, that would be just fine with me, I just wanted my life to be easy for a while.

    My life is pretty easy right now. I confess, I like it a lot. But I don’t pray for that particular outcome anymore.

  2. Juliet said, on March 18, 2010 at 9:18 PM

    I’m glad I’m not the only one.

    I think I wouldn’t mind if things are sometimes hard, if there is a reason to WHY. Like, is it BAD when things are easy? Why are hard-fought battles considered better?


Leave a Reply

