The 40 Year Old Bat Mitzvah

Self-

Posted in learning hebrew, personal growth, philosophizing, spirituality by Juliet on March 24, 2010

You have a good ear. Already you are self-correcting.

I wear Morah Heidi’s compliment close to my heart. Sometimes small encouragement keeps me going when the gap between my mouth and brain feels miles wide.

Self-correcting. What a gift.

Here is an excerpt from my spiritual journal on February 27, 2010:

“I hope to master the art of review ~ for the purpose of being better next time – but without sending myself into a loop of self-recrimination.

I can

SELF-EVALUATE

without

SELF-FLAGELLATING.

I am doing pretty damned good. I am good enough. My efforts are good enough.

Am I Stuart Smalley enough for you?

In Hebrew it’s called cheshbon and it’s a time-honored Jewish tradition. Many of Judaism’s greatest philosophers and thinkers advised setting aside time at the end of each day, each week, each month, each season, each year, for an accounting. It’s a self-review.

“Already I am noticing a HUGE improvement in my Hebrew. I need a fire lit under me to give me a sense of urgency to actually practice daily. How long have I had this book (Learn Hebrew in Ten Lessons) sitting on my desk? I have hardly ever cracked it. But now I KNOW there’s a deadline. December sounds far off, but it’ll be here soon.

Today my spiritual challenges are:

  • worry/anxiety
  • fear
  • obsessiveness
  • self-doubt

I am seeking self-examination.  Leading to self-knowledge.”

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Mom said, on March 24, 2010 at 3:40 PM

    Maybe just one of those would be enough to ponder!

  2. Nat said, on March 25, 2010 at 4:21 AM

    You are such a great planner. Yes, December will be here soon. I need some of these lessons and meditations for myself. I am struggling to plan a wedding in May.

  3. Life with Kaishon said, on March 25, 2010 at 3:48 PM

    Wow. That is something good to do : ) How introspective of you.


Leave a Reply

