The 40 Year Old Bat Mitzvah

The Meaning of Life!

Posted in philosophizing, spirituality by Juliet on June 7, 2010

I’m driving home from class.  Yeah, it’s my adult bat mitzvah class, but nothing incredibly spiritual is discussed (just Hebrew grammar rules, probably about as non-spiritual a topic as you can find.)

U2’s “Where the Streets Have No Name” is playing on the radio.

I’m eating toast.  (Weird, I know.  I love toast.)

There’s not much traffic – just me on a ribbon of dark highway.

Suddenly it hits me:  I figure out THE MEANING OF LIFE.

It’s two seemingly contradictory ideas that you have to hold in your head at once.

1)  I am nothing.  Look up at the stars, at the vastness that is the universe.  I’m smaller than the smallest speck of infinitesimal dust.

AND

2)  I am everything.  The universe and everything in it was created just for me.

So there’s me driving.  There’s the road, U2, the  car, the toast.  But then I see it like a special-effects scene from a movie.  The camera jumps back from the road to the city, then the continent, then the planet, which is like a sparkling Faberge egg clasped in a child’s hand, and the child is me.

[tweetmeme source=”batmitzvahat40” only_single=false http://www.40yearoldbatmitzvah.com%5D

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. ram0singhal said, on June 9, 2010 at 11:10 AM

    your body is like a car,
    you are driver of car,
    creator is sitting with you
    inside, to keep car clean you travel
    comfortably between life and death
    of body, to keep drive clean creator
    come closer.

    life is a rare opportunity for dirver to
    come closer to creator to become
    creator.

    for a child creator is driver,
    relax and listen music with in,
    journey and destination together.
    mile to smile……….


Leave a Reply

