The 40 Year Old Bat Mitzvah

They Knew They Were Poets but I Didn’t Know It

Posted in Uncategorized by Juliet on September 1, 2010

digital image by Simon Howden

I was an English major but didn’t realize until last night that my Torah portion (a portion of a portion, really) is written in rhyming couplets.

Duh.

In my defense, it’s in HEBREW, for God’s sake!

I have a lot to share about what’s going on with my studies and the plans for my Bat Mitzvah, but for now, let’s just say my portion is very biblical. It’s Jacob’s blessing of his sons from Vayikra. The hardest word to say in my section is “Yissachar.”

My classmate Louis has one of my new favorite Hebrew words in his portion: “Oyvecha.” Contrary to how it sounds, it is absolutely unrelated to “oy vey.”

Oy vey.

Leave a Reply

