The 40 Year Old Bat Mitzvah

Down to the Wire

Posted in Uncategorized by Juliet on December 16, 2010

It’s almost adult B’nai Mitzvah time!  Friday night (also known as tomorrow), we’ll lead a short kabbalat shabbat (“welcoming the sabbath”) service, and Saturday morning is the Big Show.

Today, I’m having major college and law school finals flashbacks, as I waver between, “If I don’t know it by now, I’ll never know it,” and a desire to cram.

The thing about the Hebrew prayers and Torah reading is, some days, everything flows and I breeze through it effortlessly.  As the blessing at the beginning of the Torah service says, I am “immersed in the words of Torah.”  I’m in the zone.

Other days, though, I still confuse my dalets and reshes, or worse, look at a word and completely freeze.  My mind goes blank.  No zone.  In the ozone.

Rabbi Castiglione gave us a little pep talk at our final class/rehearsal last night.  “You’ve already proven yourself to everyone who matters, including YOU.  What you’re doing on Saturday is leading the service for the congregation.  Relax and enjoy it.”

What I decided to do is NOT cram.  I’m going to do my regular daily study, but I’m going to focus on doing the things that put me in the zone (or at least zone-adjacent):  sleeping enough, eating right, resting, and laying off the stress.

(I’m also figuring out importing and exporting itunes playlists for music.  We have a “dance area” not a “dance floor” but I still will have music.  I’m dropping potted rose centerpieces and finalizing seating.  I’m giving directions to people driving from various directions.  You know…..all the typical bar and bat mitvah stuff.  It’s actually kind of fun.)

Next time:  pictures!

 

Leave a Reply

