The 40 Year Old Bat Mitzvah

Martha Fail

Posted in Uncategorized by Juliet on October 16, 2011

As fails go, this one was epic.

A few years ago, I decided I really wanted to do it up for sukkot, so I went to Michaels and bought a bunch of fake fruits and vegetables. I added to that strands of garlands, construction paper seasonal crafts made by the kids, and some gourds and Indian corn.

It was great!

Not so great? After the sukkah came down, I put everything in a plastic under-bed storage container. Which exploded when the living items (i.e. gourds) spoiled. Sealed into a plastic under-bed storage box was not a good idea.

It was a huge mess. As I am inclined to do with huge messes, I chose to throw the entire thing away and start over.

So last week, the girls and I headed off to Michaels armed with a variety of 40% off coupons. Mini plastic gourds to string on fishing wire: check. Bouquets of laminated seasonal berries, cones, and bristles, and other fake vegetation: check. Garlands of colored branches and leaves: check. Living pumpkins and gourds: no bueno, no check.

These will stay inside on the dining room table. There will be no mixing of the seasonal decor, so as to avoid any temptation toward confusion.

Fool me once.

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Felipe said, on August 30, 2013 at 10:34 PM

    Its like you read my mind! You seem to know a lot about this, like you wrote the book in it or something. I think that you can do with a few pics to drive the mgeasse home a bit, but other than that, this is wonderful blog. An excellent read. I will certainly be back.


Leave a Reply

