The 40 Year Old Bat Mitzvah

We Say Maize

Posted in Uncategorized by Juliet on December 14, 2011

Each year Eva’s Girl Scout troop has a “holiday traditions” potluck.  The girls bring dishes that are meaningful to them.  Eva volunteered me to bring latkes, which are way too hard to serve potluck style.  (Anything fried needs to be cooked to order, or they turn into greasy hockey pucks.)

So I told her I’d make matzo ball soup.  Ten girls and two troop leaders, and a package of Streit matzo ball mix makes 9-12 matzo balls.  Score!

So I had a crazy day….I mean, a day so crazy that making soup with a “flavor packet” out of a boxed mix was not happening.

Instead, I am hearkening back to my possibly Cherokee ancestors by stirring up a package of just-add-water Marie Callender’s corn muffin mix.  Easy peasy, crowd pleasing especially when your crowd are fifth graders.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I have to whip up an emergency batch of 12 cups of individually ziploc baggie-d royal icing for school gingerbread houses.  Ah, holiday time!

Leave a Reply

