The 40 Year Old Bat Mitzvah

Salem’s Lot

Posted in Uncategorized by Juliet on April 25, 2012

So I’m sure you ran right over to see whether I was able to have a good night’s sleep by breaking my routine.

You know what?  It worked.  I was asleep by 10:30 and woke just before 6 a.m.  I felt refreshed all day long.

It’s not realistic for me to be in bed that early every night, but I can do it a couple of nights each week.

One thing I really missed, though, was snuggling on the couch with Mo.  The weird thing is he looks like he’s getting taller (even though he is supposedly fully grown.)  I really notice it when he bends down to eat or pick something up off the ground.  He  has that baby foal look where his front legs have to splay out to the sides so he can reach the ground.

He waits for me to pull my special couch blankets out of the ottoman, then he jumps up on me, gives a couple of deep, releasing breaths, and he is out.  It’s fantastic, especially on cold nights.  (If it’s warm, he periodically jumps down onto the Pergo floor to cool off.)

Last night I had to catch up on Sunday’s Amazing Race (sad about the outcome!) but I was in bed  by 11:30.

Improving…improving…improving…

I plowed through two thirds of Salem’s Lot in two days and I think I’ll bring it up to bed with me again tonight for another TV-free, early-to-bed evening.  Eva is having a slumber party this weekend so I need my strength!

Leave a Reply

